Plenary Speakers

Anoopoma Bhowmik Senior Project Manager & ELP Supervisor at Edmund Optics

Anoopoma Bhowmik is a Senior Project Manager at Edmund Optics, responsible for new optical products developed from concept to prototype to high volume production. These projects span varied market applications including laser material processing, imaging systems for machine vision, liquid lens integration for dynamic focus adjustment, and environmental sealing for military applications. She also directs the Engineering Leadership Program which attracts, trains, and retains top talent with a custom series of 6-9 month department rotations over a demanding multi-year period. ELP graduates are expected to take on strategic challenges with critical need for the organization in positions of high visibility. Lastly, she serves as Chair of the Women in Optics Steering Committee. The committee founded a monthly Women’s Forum lunch to provide a unique space for career development, training, and mentorship for 60-80 interested employees across 3 office sites.

Anoopoma is a proud graduate of the University of Michigan with a Bachelor’s of Science in Mechanical Engineering as well as of the University of Arizona with a Master’s of Science in Optical Engineering. She has presented to college students of SWE chapters, K-12 students with Girls, Inc., WiSTEE attendees at OSA Headquarters in Washington D.C., and participates regularly in STEM outreach activities. She is honored to be a part of the IONS Conference and grateful to SPIE for the opportunity to become a visiting lecturer.

Jason Eichenholz Co-Founder and CTO at LUMINAR

Jason Eichenholz is the co-founder and Chief Technology Officer of Luminar, a sensing technology company that will become the core platform to enable safe fully autonomous vehicles. As CTO, Eichenholz is responsible for research and development of new products, product roadmap and bringing Luminar’s technology to market. 

Over the past twenty-five years, Jason has led the development of hundreds of millions of dollars of new photonics products. Before joining Luminar, he was the CEO and founder of Open Photonics, an open innovation company dedicated to the commercialization of optics and photonics technologies. Prior to that, he served as the Divisional Technology Director at Halma PLC. In that role, he was responsible for supporting innovation, technology and strategic development for the Photonics and Health Optics Divisions. Before joining Halma, he was the CTO and Board Member of Ocean Optics Inc. as well as the Director of Strategic Marketing at Newport/Spectra-Physics. 

Eichenholz is a fellow of SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, as well as a fellow of the Optical Society (OSA). He holds more than twenty U.S. patents on new types of lasers and photonic devices. Eichenholz has an M.S. and Ph.D. in Optical Science and Engineering from CREOL – The College of Optics and Photonics at the University of Central Florida and a B.S. in Physics from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Rebecca Andersen

Rebecca Andersen Executive Director LightCounting Market Research

Rebecca (Becky) Andersen is an award-winning, accredited communications strategist with more than 15 years of experience in technology communications and marketing. Andersen is a trusted adviser to senior leadership, internal and external clients alike with strategic skills matched by impeccable on-the-ground savvy and tactical abilities.

Currently, she is the executive director of LightCounting, a market research firm focused on the optical communications industry. Prior to LightCounting, Andersen was the director of public relations for The Optical Society (OSA). During this time, Andersen achieved the member designation of OSA senior membership. In addition to her work at LightCounting, Andersen teaches masters-level courses in public relations writing and integrated marketing communications at Georgetown University, Washington, DC.

Andersen has a M.S. in Integrated Marketing Communications from West Virginia University and an B.S. in international marketing from American University in Washington D.C. She is currently pursuing her EdD in Organizational Change and Leadership from the University of Southern California. As an active member of the Public Relations Society of America, she served as the 2014 President for the National Capital Chapter, the largest PRSA chapter in the United States. Connect with her – LinkedIn: RebeccaBAndersen, Twitter: @Becky_Andersen.